Walking in this Storm

The storms of life always have potential to be turned into something beautiful

The storms of life always have potential to be turned into something beautiful. I can hardly believe I wrote this poem on July 31, 2011. It is a constant and daily reminder of God’s faithfulness when I can’t see through the dark clouds that come my way. I am so underserving of the grace and love that God has shown me.

The heaviness of my heart is beginning to weigh.
I often wonder if this is just another phase.
Jesus I long to see you walking in this storm
Because I know I can’t do this alone.
The direction I’ve chosen to take seems to be the road less traveled.
Maybe that is why I feel like I’m walking on gravel.
Trying to make it to the very end,
I constantly stop to breathe and take it all in.
The pain is small in comparison to what you were dealt.
You took on pain from the origin of itself.
My fears, my failures, my human nature all fight with each other,
While your truth stands firm in all it has to offer.
Take my power hungry spirit from contradicting with Yours,
And mold it into that of You my Lord.
I pray my head and my body continue on forward,
No walking backward or any unnecessary detours.

Here and now, take me as I am.
Just one unworthy, selfish man.

Leave a Reply

